Finland Center Foundation
@ Centre for Social Innovation
601 West 26th St. #325-102
New York, NY 10001

Phone: 1-646-704-8000

8 + 4 =

Board of Directors:

Eija Bucciarelli

Meeri Koskialho is originally from Espoo, Finland, where she studied business and marketing. She has worked in risk management and the music and fashion industries. A life-time animal and human rights activist, she began globe-trotting at an early age. She met Jaana Rehnström, founder of the Kota Alliance, soon after moving to New York City and became part of the original Kota task force. Meeri currently manages a women’s clothing boutique in Midtown Manhattan. She enjoys traveling, especially around the Mekong river and the Himalayas.

Jaana Rehnström is a physician (gynecologist) recently retired from private practice. She has been a lifelong human rights activist and since her move to New York 30+ years ago, became interested in promoting Finnish culture and values. She has served on the Boards of several Finnish expatriate organizations in New York and is now also on the Board of the Kota Alliance, a new NYC organization dedicated to gender equality and women’s empowerment (an offshoot of FCF). In her free time she enjoys music in all its forms, reading, cooking, gardening, socializing with friends and family, and travel.

Johanna Pentikäinen

Thomas Riggs

Mari Simonen an interrnationally recognized leader on development issues was, until recently, Deputy Executive Director of the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) and Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations. She was responsible for management, resource mobilization and partnerships. Mari Simonen is currently Chairperson of the International Board of Trustees of Voluntary Service Overseas (VSO), a global non- governmental organization fighting poverty through volunteers. Among other current responsibilities, Mari Simonen is member of the independet audit and oversight committee of the United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR) and member of the board of directors of Population Action international (PAI).

Advisory Board

Laura Abrams

Marko Albrecht

Heli Blum

Leonard Easter

Taina Elg

Aili Flint

Katariina Forsberg

Sari Gold

Markus Kaitila

Rea Nurmi

Liisa Roberts

Robert Saasto

Kalle Toivio

Sanna Valvanne